Out Of Context

by imageguy

All images are Copyright George Cannon, all rights reserved.

 

birch trees and grasses

 

One of the aspects of photography that I enjoy most is the ability to isolate a small portion of the world from its surroundings. To take out of context a piece of the visually chaotic world and look at it on its own, for what it offers, without the distractions of everything else.

 

large boat on stands at the boatyard

 

When I have taught students about composition, I have pointed out that composition is a decision making process that involves arranging a picture. Choosing what will be in the frame of the image as well as what will not. And how will those things that are included interact with or relate to each other as well as to the frame of the image. Sometimes this requires a great deal of thought. Sometimes it happens in an instant.

 

flowerbed at Ithaca College

 

On my web site I have a section I call “Out Of Context”. These are images that aren’t really about anything in particular except design. Color, line, form, light, shadow, texture, shapes, and the relationship of all of these things isolated in a single frame.

 

at the athletic field

 

They suggest things, they sometimes include signs or words. But they are mostly about isolating something from everything else in a way that makes me happy to look at it. Sometimes they feel humorous. Sometimes they illustrate some emotion or stimulate a question. Sometimes it’s simply the play of color I react to or the juxtaposition of elements that seem incongruous.

 

iris at the parking lot

 

What ever attracts my attention to these things, I am thankful for it, because it helps me to see the wonder and beauty and humor and serendipity of the everyday amid a lot of visual stimulus that has little meaning to me. We are bombarded daily with so much to look at. And the joy of photography is the ability to pick and choose what I will take out of context and hold on to. Those snippets of everyday that are worth a second look.

