Winter’s Last Gasp

by imageguy

It was 57 degrees and sunny yesterday. When I left work I could feel that first warm breath of spring around the corner. It’s coming. I can feel it. Today we had a dusting of snow. Enough to just give everything the look of a lightly sugared cookie or the top of a bundt cake.

snow 1

snow 2

A gentle frosting that outlined every branch and etched every black wet edge. It was beautiful. The creeks are already running high with snow melt. We had about six inches of new snow last week, but the warm southern air has sent it all to the gorges and gullies.

snow 3

snow 4

snow 5

We are expecting heavy rain tonight after a bit of sleet and freezing rain, but the rising temp during the night will change it all to rain. About two inches of it so the weather forecast says. That means I will likely have to pump out the basement tomorrow. Living in a 180 year old house with an old stone cellar has its drawbacks.

snow 6

snow 7

The creeks were full and the stream above Taughannock Falls was at the top of its normal banks already today. The waterfall out back is roaring and occasionally when out walking the dog I can hear large areas of ice break free and crash to the bottom of the gorge.

snow 8

I stayed out of work today to take Margot to the vet. She’s had some skin problems on her back and now has ear infections. She was a peach today though, in spite of the poking and prodding and digging in her ears repeatedly, the medicated bath and the antibiotics. She’s such a cute dog and I feel bad for her just as I would for my own child when she’s sick. But still playful and more than willing to harass the cats.

I have been adding numerous images to my other blog, Artcards, and getting steadily more traffic. I’m having a great time experimenting with images in Photoshop when I have the time, and creating photo-art from images that I was already happy with, but have found new potential in.

snow 9

So, goodbye winter. Sayonara. Arrivederci. Be gone with you. I am ready for green, for the bursting of buds, for the smell of lilacs, for a trip down I-81 through redbud and dogwood country to the warm sands of Florida. I am ready to defrost and put away the boots and jackets and snow shovel. I am ready to not hear the furnace kick on. I am ready for daffodils and tulip magnolias. I am ready for t-shirts and shorts and flip-flops. Come on sunshine! Bring me the Spring!

All images are copyright © George Cannon, all rights reserved.

