Armstrong 2010 Dance Recital

by imageguy

ASD is back for another amazing annual recital.

asd1

asd2

asd21

asd22

Even though my daughter is no longer dancing with the Armstrong School of Dance since she graduated high school last year and has moved on to college, I still miss seeing these beautiful young dancers and still feel compelled to go and photograph their annual performance. As always, this year’s recital took place at Ithaca College’s Ford Hall. Split into two major productions, with the tiny tots dancing early and the older girls dancing later, it was great to return and see those familiar faces.

asd3

asd4

asd5

I am only allowed to photograph at dress rehearsal and it always seems that no matter how early I get there and position myself, at the last minute a six foot eight guy with a big head will sit two rows in front and I’m shooting around him all night. But that being said, it took nothing away from great dancing from tiny peanuts to the team girls and graduating seniors. This year the team Moms even got on stage and I have to hand it to them. Karen made them run through the whole thing twice at rehearsal and I’m not sure I would have that kind of stamina. Bravo, Moms! You did great.

asd6

asd7

I believe what I love most with the tiny kids are the expressions, the way they either keep their eyes fixed on their teacher (usually on stage with them) or the way they seem totally distracted and wave at relatives in the audience in their first big onstage experience. They are so adorable and I struggle to keep my eyes working all the time because there is so much cuteness to capture.

asd8

asd9

I loved the tributes to Michael Jackson with the gloves that swallowed the tiny hands. The excitement, the pride, the joy at performing and wearing the sparkly costumes. It’s every tiny girl’s dream to have all eyes on them on stage and they never disappoint whether they remember the steps or not.

asd10

asd11

It’s wonderful to see the older girls dance every year too, because so many of them I have seen grow and mature as dancers and young women over the last several years. I wished my daughter was back up there dancing with them, because I always loved watching her with this group so much. But all the same, I still feel a real affection for these students that follow in her footsteps and still feel as though our family is part of the Armstrong family. It’s part of what continues to bring me back.

asd12

asd13

asd14

asd14

Also, since I have been so connected with Running To Places Theatre Company, it’s great to see faces from R2P in the ranks of Armstrong dancers and have that double connection now.

asd15

asd16

asd17

asd17

asd23

So to Karen and all the team girls, I wish you the best of luck at nationals this year. I enjoyed seeing you all dance again this year so very much. You are all so beautiful, graceful, athletic, talented, and entertaining. Thanks for another great performance. Life is short, DANCE HARD!

asd18

asd19

asd19

asd20

asd21

All Images are Copyright © George Cannon.

These pictures and many more from my shoot are available at http://imageguy.zenfolio.com.

