I Guess I’ll Stay

by imageguy

I moved to New Mexico in late May of 2023. I just renewed my lease here at the complex where I settled in Albuquerque. To say it was a smooth transition would be putting lipstick on a pig. I’ve moved numerous times in my life and it’s never easy. The best part is, I survived it with some bit of sanity left. Some parts were hard. Finding a new doctor, finding a decent barber, adapting to a smaller space and a much tighter budget. The most frustrating has been trying to move my LLC photography business from New York to New Mexico. The application has been repeatedly rejected for filling out the wrong line, checking the wrong box, expired document, or just plain meanness. As soon as this one document from New York arrives again (for the fifth time) that is only valid for 30 days, it will be submitted once again with the multi-corrected application to sit on someone’s desk for five weeks before it’s even looked at. Not to mention, the New York State Tax department decided to audit my return from three years ago and wanted some more of my information. So I answered their questionnaire and sent them the receipts they wanted to see. They then said, pay us $2100. So I contacted H&R Block in Jacksonville, NY and reported to them that I needed their help with an audit, and I had purchased their “Peace of Mind” insurance where supposedly “they had my back” and would handle everything directly. I provided the agent with a POA. Told New York that I disputed their request and gave them H&R’s number. And they took over. About a month in I asked for an update but was told, we haven’t heard anything yet. Then a week later I get another bill from New York. I contacted the H&R agent twice with no response. Finally on April 14th I wrote apologizing for the message at her busiest time, but I need to know my next step regarding the Peace of Mind coverage of this tax bill (supposedly covered up to $6000). She wrote back to say she could no longer help me. That because I had actually responded to New York the first time and did not immediately give the issue to them within 60 days of the receipt of the first letter. They consider that to be “attempting to solve the issue on my own”, so they were no longer bound by Peace of Mind. Of course, no one had ever explained this technicality to me, it was not documented in any of the documents supplied when I received that tax return from H&R. So unless I was clairvoyant or knew to go online and search through pages of FAQs to find the terms and read them before answering NY State, how the hell am I to know that by complying I was screwing myself. If you use H&R, beware of this deceitful practice.

On the other hand, as my friend Mark says, I’m “livin’ the dream”.

New Mexico is huge. Albuquerque is sprawling, but manageable. Traffic here moves along, really along sometimes. But I drive far less than I ever have. Most necessities are not far away. I walk my neighborhood for exercise and there are great hiking trails at the foot of the Sandia Mountains on the east end of my street. Biggest drawback is the traffic noise. But that’s living in the city.

The clouds and skies can be amazing. The roads are long with services few and distant, so you watch your gas gauge and carry water if you’re going a long way. The landscape is so varied and changes in an instant. It’s a land of canyons and mesas and uplifts and lava beds, desert plains and forested mountains. And it’s all BIG.

The sun is so warm and incredibly bright. I am at about a mile high in elevation here and the air is thinner, drier, windier than New York was. I came here from the land where clouds go to die. Ithaca is such a gray place for so much of the year. I’ve been watching the weather and it seems that since I left, there has been a continuous string of snow and rain week after week. I don’t miss cleaning that slop of my car all winter long. Though a good downpour of rain is always welcome here in New Mexico.

Though sales have not blossomed yet, doors are opening in the Santa Fe art market. I just hope I have what this market wants. Friends are coming slowly, but as more social events take place, familiar faces are emerging. I am thankful for meeting Daniel Boardman, owner of Triana restaurant in Albuquerque. A wonderfully welcoming man with great taste, humor, and personality. Triana is a Spanish Tapas restaurant (Daniel is a Tango dancer) with a great chef, great menu, great wine, great atmosphere, …oh hell, it’s GREAT, so go there if you’re ever in town. And my friend, Paul DeSouza, a ranch owner near Gallup. I met Paul at a gun safety class, getting our CCW training. He lives out in the wild west and protection takes a long time to arrive when you call 911 out there. Paul is from India and his wife from Japan. Now he’s tending a few wild horses in his “paradise”.

So my lease renewal deadline is here. I ran my ad for a few months looking for the ideal casita with attached studio that is pictured in the painting “George finds his Paradise”. Had a few nibbles, but no jackpot. So bit the bullet, even with a $100 a month rent increase. But there’s light. There’s cracks in the wall. The barriers come down slowly, sometimes painfully so. But in a desert landscape worn by millions of years of erosion and eruption, we are reminded of patient chipping away at barriers. They all eventually wash away with the rain.

I also want to take this time to mention my daughter, who is graduating with honors with a PhD in Anthropology from Ohio State. She set out years ago to build a sanctuary for primates. And she has done it through shear determination and dedication to her goal. Doctor, you are truly awesome!

Peace,

Imageguy